Mini Gourd Ornaments

I grew quite a few mini gourds this past season and while most are still drying on racks, a few were finished with the drying phase and I was anxious to use them for Christmas ornaments.  In the past I created some really neat gourd flowers with my minis and some pumpkin decorations.  These I posted at Craftster and can be seen here.  For my lastest creation I first added a thread hanger so I could work on the gourds from all sides and they could dry nicer.

 Mini gourds ready to decorate

I painted 2 coats of white acrylic paint on some and 2 coats of black on others.  I let this dry then added my designs.  The 3 littliest gourds turned out super …

 

as did the mini snowmen ornaments.  I finished by adding a coat of Mod Podge for sealing and for the shiny affect.  At first I tried Polycrylic which I read was a good product to use to seal the gourds, but it seemed to eat at the paint.  Not sure why that happened but will do some further research.  I still have a handful of mini gourds to decorate and tons more once my harvest drys up … so Fun!  It is amazing how they can be transformed into creations of art! 

I added a post to the Business blog titled Benefits of Blogging if you are interested in reading this information.

Here are 2 larger gourds drying on the racks also.  Haven’t decided what they will turn into yet!

 Any ideas?

3 Responses

  1. Just wanted to stop by and thank you for dropping by my blog and taking the time to leave a comment.

    And I really like the decorated gourds. The black and white ones are so pretty and the snowmen are just such fun. Makes me wish I had some gourds to decorate.

  2. Christmas is coming around the corner. Thanks for the great post. Be safe if your going out this New Years

  3. Love those small gourds. We grew several large ones this year and I’m just waiting for them to cure and then play. I’ll be interested to find out what you will make of those!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

