Nasturtium GROW Project

This is the first official post on the Nasturtium flower growing project I am participating in through GROW – check out the website for all the members who are involved.  Once a month we will be reporting on the progress of our Nasturtium seeds which were donated by Renee’s Garden and we can compare notes and share ideas!

I planted most of my seeds on March 19th – 4 per pot, 6 pots inside under grow lights. 

I made sure the soil was moist and covered the tray and set under the lights.  It took 7-9 days for the seeds to start growing – we were out of town and when we returned, there they were!

 3/28/10

I have about a month and a half  before I can transplant them outside after the frost danger has passed.  From past experience I know Nasturtium is a viney plant so I may have to repot inside if they start to take off!  Seedlings on 4-3-10

I have also enlisted the help of some “little gardeners”, Natalie and Charlie.  I had some seeds left over and since we will be planting a garden for the first time over at their home this year I think the Nasturtium will be a great addition and such fun for them to watch grow.  So we potted up the seeds for them today and found a nice bright spot for them.  They will be reporting in each month also so watch for their progress along with all us other gardeners!

“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project, thanks to ReneesGarden.com for the seeds.”

10 Responses

  1. I’m jealous — I’m still waiting to sow mine! It’s just too soon here. Great idea to get the kids involved, and I LOVE those plant markers. My oldest daughter will probably be growing along with me, too.

    Looking forward to seeing the rest of your GROW project posts!

  2. What a wonderful project! I love nasturtiums, but planted the first seeds last year. I’ve not tried starting indoors, just direct sowing.

    Cameron

  3. I did a preplanting of nasturtiums in January thinking, okay well I’ve got 6-8 weeks before they need to go outside.

    They grew fast!! I had to move them into a big pot before I transfered them outside :) But they sure did grow well!

  4. Thank you all for the comments! I am thinking I will have some nice blooms from these seeds. I started my marigolds inside also and have some ready to bloom. In previous years I have direct sowed both and the flowers bloom later in the season and I thought well, I want to use these as companions to attract good insects and repel the bad bugs so I need a headstart with them. I am excited to involve “the little gardeners” (my cousin’s kids). I wished I had involved my own children more when they were little – thought they would naturally pick it up, but they never did. It definitely takes a parent’s guiding hand to teach our children gardening!

  5. It is awesome that you enlisted the little gardeners to help out. Nasturtiums were the first seeds I let my nephew sow in the garden when he was 2.

  6. Nice set up. Yours are sure growing like gangbusters.

  7. I have almost the exact same seed starting setup in my garage. Too funny.

    Can’t wait to read Charlie and Natalie’s reports on how their nasturtiums are growing!

  8. It’s just super that the kids are excited about the project! Good luck in the garden this spring.

  9. I grow nasturtium every year, and I absolutely love it! This year I’m attempting to grow a black velvet nasturtium, which is a new one for me… Hope it performs well. Cheers!

  10. You’ve got a great seed starting setup with lights, rack, and everything. I am envious (and for the fact you will be planting out earlier too). I love nasturtiums, esp. the dark leaved ones, and grow them every year.

    Christine in Alaska

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

