Baking: Trying to keep it healthy!

I love to bake!  Over the years I have tried to keep my baking on the healthy side – no extra toppings or too much butter or salt.  I use fresh ingredients when possible and grow much of the favorites and use extras for baking and freezing.  Now with the 2 kids away at college if I bake I have to either eat it or freeze it.  The freezer is pretty packed these days.  They will be home for winter break soon and the real baking will begin!  This past week I have made a few goodies to hold me over until that time!

 Flaxseed Cookies

Ingredients = 1 cup shortening, 1 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, 1 tsp. vanilla, 2 eggs beaten, 2 cups flour, 1 tsp. baking soda, 1 cup chocolate chips, 1/4 cup ground flaxseed

Combine above and bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes until golden brown.  I have grown flaxseed this past year as an experiment and it grew rather well.  Since it is quite costly and so good for the health, I am sure I will be growing more this year – much more.

 Applesauce Multigrain Muffins (the multigrain is very similar to oatmeal – substitute using oatmeal)

This recipe is on the box of Country Choice organic hot cereal Multi Grain.  There is a streusel topping included but I opted to leave it out – less calories. Ingredients = 1 cup multigrain cereal (uncooked), 1 1/2 cup flour, 1 tsp. baking powder, 1/2 tsp. baking soda, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 cup applesauce, 1/2 cup low fat milk, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup sunflower oil & 1 egg

Combine ingredients – bake for 18-20 minutes in a 400 degree oven.

These I actually froze since we still have half of the banana bread remaining from last week to eat up.  The muffins I can just grab one at a time and pop in the microwave for a minute or so and have for breakfast or a quick snack. 

Two other items that were on sale each at $1.00 – 10 oz bags of spinach and 3 lb. bags of apples were purchased and processed this week.  The spinach I steamed up and froze for use in my spinach quiche I make (the quiche can be cut into sections and frozen as well, popped in the microwave for a great breakfast).

 Spinach before steaming

It always amazing me, no matter how many times I do this …  how a big pot of spinach steams down to a mere handful of steamed spinach!

Amazing!  

Steamed spinach to be frozen in a plastic baggie for future cooking.  Lastly, the apples I cut into slices and stacked them in my much loved Excalibur dehydrator.

 

 Dehydrated apple slices which I keep right on the countertop in a plastic container ready to grab for a healthy snack…. healthy, healthy, that’s the ticket!!!

2 Responses

  1. […] Baking: Trying To Keep It Healthy! […]

Leave a Reply

