Grocery shopping takes on new meaning

I was actually excited to head out to the grocery store yesterday even though we were hit with a foot of snow over the weekend.  I have been taking in all I can from the Spark People website and really planning out my meals.  For the first time ever…..really planning out my meals and it’s Fun!  So the grocery store was the place to be to find all different ingredients to whip up some new food.  I picked up 3 cantaloupes which were on sale at $1.19 each to cube up and dehydrate.  I will use this dried fruit to add to some type of granola snack I plan on making (still have to search the recipes to find the perfect recipe … there are tons!) 

 This time I decided to dice the cantaloupe instead of slice it.  I am thinking it will be easier to eat and better suited for a granola type snack.  I am hoping it doesn’t take that much longer to dry since it is thicker.  No parts of the cantaloupe are wasted at this household….the skins go the compost bin (some smaller skins to the worms in the worm bin) and the seeds and insides go to the chickens!!

 They love the seeds!

I will post the granola fruit snack I find or create once that happens.  I do have to run now since the new puppy is crying for attention (again!) … I forgot how much time they require.

 See her there at the end of the couch … passed out but not for long!  AND my spinach seeds have sprouted……. very cool!

My Spark book has arrived today ……. so I will grab it and head on into the other room to sit with puppy!  Happy Day!!

Leave a Reply

