• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 85 other followers

  • Tweet with Me!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Facebook fan page

  • Recent Comments

    Wendi on Lolli Pots – candy …
    Donna (@simplydab) on Another Gourmet Garlic Gi…
    Rosa on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    therunninggarlic on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    Pamela on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    JPlovesCOTTON on Borage in Bloom
  • Categories

Healthy Eating

I dried some cantaloupe the other day and was planning on making a trail mix with the cubed dried fruit but I have changed my mind.  Since I have been paying attention to what I put in my mouth and tracking my nutrition and fitness activity daily I have been sidestepping the chips and cookies (since I realized they are useless calories) and instead have been taking a  handful of the dried cantaloupe and munching on that and I am lovin’ it!!!  The dried apple is really good too – it’s like a new discovery here.  I have been drying fruit for a while now and usually leave it for the kids to munch on, but now I look forward to snacking on it!

 Dried apple & cantaloupe

I also picked up this Sharp Cheddar seasoning to add to popcorn for another healthy snack and it is actually very good.  Just 1/2 teaspoon is only 5 calories and that pretty much covered a whole pan.  I am sure you can more if  you want, but I was fine with 1/2 teaspoon!

Now for lunch the past 2 days I enjoyed this Asian Chicken Salad. The recipe I found on Spark People and it is healthy and low calorie … way to go!   A little preparation ahead of time and I am very happy with what I am eating.

For dinner we made Pork Stir fry ….. healthy, healthy and enjoyable once again!

 Pork stir fry

Marinate 1 lb. of pork loin, cut in 1/2″ cubes with 3-4 cloves of minced garlic, 1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger root and 1/3 cup teriyaki sauce overnight in the refrigerator.  We found using a plastic bag made it easy to swoosh the food and marinade around for good coverage – do this every couple of hours or so.  Next day prepare your vegetables – we used bean sprouts, snap peas, cabbage, red bell pepper, zucchini and onion.  Keep the vegetables separate and add them each to a skillet to cook – longest to cook, cook first.  Meat —>onion, pepper —>peas, cabbage —>zucchini, bean sprouts.    Add 2 cups of water with 2 chicken bouillon cubes and 2-3 tablespoons of cornstarch.  Let cook for 2-3 minutes and serve over brown rice.

Puppy Billie seems to rule the roost here … that didn’t take long!

3 Responses

  1. I put olive oil and then nutritional yeast on my organic popcorn and boy is it tasty and very healthy. I try to stay away from processed food … tends to have stuff in it I am not sure is healthy. I read labels carefully… highly recommend it. Dried cantaloupe sounds yummy! Your dogs are adorable!!

  2. I absolutely love to dry stuff! I’ve never dried cantalope – have to try that! I love to make apple rollups in addition to the just plain dried apples. All it includes is apples, water or unsweetened apple juice and cinnamon to taste. They’re a little more work than just drying the apples, but oh so good. Dried tomatoes are a great snack too! I still get a kick out of eating in winter from our trees and plants.

  3. healthy eating should be our top priority since there are many junk foods and foods with no nutritional value these days ;-~

Leave a Reply

