Gardening Blogs and other events

My blog has been accepted and listed on Blotanical  and I am really happy about that!  I have clicked on the Blotancial  website in the past and looked around at the different  gardening blogs that are listed there.  I found myself reading many of the experiences from other gardeners and when I left the site I was content in knowing that there are many others who love to garden and blog about it too!  In my most recent visit I decided to create an account and submit my blog – it took a few days, but the email arrived yesterday saying I was accepted … yes!  I will be spending more time on the site discovering and reading some good garden talk.  If you are listed, let me know and I can favorite your blog!  I love all kinds of garden talk and what amazes me is the pictures and stories from different parts of the world – you get a taste of what living there is about and realize that there really is a huge world out there.  Thank you Blotanical for accepting my blog … you made my day! 

 Along the lines of discovering blogs from all parts of the country I came across The Whimsical Bohemian blog last week and  seems I stumbled upon this wonderful blog just in the niche of time.  You can read more detail about this event that she hosts called One World One Heart which starts January 25th – less than a week away.  I plan to participate and am gearing myself up for the fun ahead.  The idea behind the event is an opportunity to connect with bloggers from all over the world – you must have an active blog and a gift to giveaway to one winner (or more if you decide) when the event concludes on February 15th.  Do check out all the details if you are looking for a fun event where you can meet others from all over!

 I also received a program flyer in the mail the other day from the Midwestern Herb and Garden Show announcing the speakers and activities for the 2010 show which is set for February 12 – 14th.  We have attended the past 2 years and it seems to keep getting better each year.  This year the keynote speaker is Mel Bartholomew, Author of “Square Foot Gardening”.  I checked out his website very briefly and noticed he now has a cookbook — so I will be heading back to scope out the contents and read up some more on his theory.  We will definitely be in the audience to listen and learn all we can!  The whole 3 day event is free and many local vendors will be there sharing their knowledge and goods.

 Fun stuff ahead !!!

12 Responses

  1. So glad to know you are on Blotanical…I joined up also! Indeed there are so many wonderful gardening friends to meet and blogs to read. I’ll look for you!

  2. Welcome to blotanical. I have been spending a lot, maybe too much, time there reading/discovering the great garden blogs out there. It’s fun to look at gardens that are still green and growing when mine is two feet under the white stuff.

    The closest garden show to me is the one in Seattle, so I am headed there in February. Hope you’ll post about the midwest show you are going to.

    Christine in Alaska

  3. I joined Blotanical last year on a blogger friend suggestion, just after creating a gardening blog “my little vegetable garden”. It’s fun to hop around seasons, weather, gardens and adventures….. and there are tips all over. Happy gardening and blogging too… Cheers, ~bangchik

  4. You’ve had the North and the East. Now the South. South Africa. Welcome to Blotanical!

  5. aloha again, I finally got a chance to see your blog and visit. I’m sure you’ll have a great time meeting alot of gardening friends around the world including myself from Hawaii….happy blogging!

  6. Thank you for the welcoming comments! I am so looking forward to exploring all the garden sites and meeting all the wonderful gardeners like you all … Thanks and nice to meet you!

  7. Welcome to Blotanical! I think you will indeed find it a wonderful and congenial community of committed gardeners. The only problem is that Blotanical tends to be addictive — and then you have to figure out how to combine it with the rest of your life!

  8. You’ve started the new year on a busy, happy note. Joining Blotanical is a good start. Be sure to read the FAQs under the Help tab.

  9. Congrats on joining Blotanical! That’s how I found you.

    I’m relatively new there, too, just joined in late December, but I’m loving the site already. I agree with you that one of the most thrilling aspects is seeing gardens unfold around the world, getting a sense of what it’s like to grow things and experience life in different bioregions.

    Great to stumble upon your blog today. 🙂

  10. Welcome to Blotanical, Ms.Garlic! We are glad you joined us. You have so much to share – soap making, crafts, gardening…

  11. I would like to offer my belated “Welcome” as well (I have been out of town). Blotanical is a great place to belong. By the way, I love your detergent tip – my sister makes it too and swears by it. I look forward to reading your future posts.

  12. It’s taken me a little while to find you, but I’m on Blotanical too…so wanted to say hi;-) It’s an amazing network of garden bloggers…a bit overwhelming, at times, too;-) It’s gotten so HUGE that it’s hard to keep up with everyone and keep meeting new bloggers…but eventually we all connect at one time or another! Jan

Leave a Reply

