I Miss My Garden

The weather has been wild all over the country – snow and more snow!  We even woke to an earthquake here in Illinois yesterday; the roar and the rumble jolted us right from our slumber.  The initial reports stated it at 4.3 but as the day wore on and more information was gathered it was rated as a 3.8 earthquake.  I can only imagine the magnitude of the recent quake in Haiti.  What a wakeup call …

As the winter wears on,  many gardeners use the downtime to create.  Stories are written, fabrics are woven into flowing garments, knitting, crocheting, woodworking, painting ….. the list is long – all the creations produced from the mind of a gardener are as creative as the gardens they build with loving care.  Gardening brings a natural focus into these works and showcases the crafty talents and beautiful work from the hands of a gardener.

My latest creation is artistic and practical.  I lean toward crafting items that tend to have a useful purpose.  In this case …

I designed 2 woodburned signs for hanging and displaying garlic and herbs from the garden.  I have been fascinated with woodburning since I was young and enjoy the look.  I still have to drill holes for the dowels where the garlic/herbs will hang.  I am considering giving one of these finished Garlic Herb signs as my giveaway gift in The Great Garden Giveaway!   I did mention in a previous post that the seeds for the giveaway are all packed and ready to go …   Make sure to spread the word to all your gardening friends ….

  Seeds all ready!

While I am still missing my garden …

I have time to work on another project.  My birthday gift last summer was a magnificent mini barn for all my gardening needs. 

 

I will be planting flowers and possibly bushes around the barn but more importantly I need to create a “Welcome Sign”.  The back wall is what you see as you drive up the gravel road to our home, so a nice Welcome sign there would be perfect.  The possibilities for a design are many but I am leaning toward this veggie one which I woodburned on a seed box last year.

I think that might look really nice as you drove up to our home.  What do you think?  What are you crafting this time of year?

8 Responses

  1. Love those woodburned signs and that veggie design would be beautiful as a welcome sign on your neat shed! I usually catch up with scrapbooking during this down time, but I got so burned out last year that I’ve not done much of 2009 scrapbook. Instead I’m playing with other crafts – looking through books, things I’ve wanted to do but don’t have time in the warm months. I have a woodburning tool but have never used it. Bought it for one of those projects that I no longer know what it was! Also, getting into making our own soap and will be making some body lotion soon. Great blog topic! I too miss the garden and hope it won’t be long!

    • I saw your post regarding your soap making and the finished product looked really Great! The body lotion sounds super especially now with the dry air all around. What a super way to start the day … showering with homemade soap and sealing it all in with your own body lotion … simply perfect!

  2. Love that wood-burned seed box! I have a hat on one set of knitting needles and a sock on another set……and about 1000 sewing projects that are started or are floating around in my head!!

  3. I miss my garden too. The snow’s going to melt, right?

    jim

  4. LOL I have all sorts of projects floating around in my head too …. and I keep adding more and more! Nice to meet you Sarah!

    Jim….that’s questionable! But I bet it does and the sooner the better for me!

  5. I love your designs and think they will look wonderful at the entrance of your new barn.
    Your handwritten snow photo is just priceless :^)

  6. I love the vegetable sign, and think it would look great on the barn, maybe with a Welcome on it. I miss my garden too. I’m an avid knitter so am knitting away the winter. I weave also and have a new project ready to go on the loom, but need to find a good chunk of time to get it started. Spring will be here soon…..

  7. I LOVE the writing in the snow!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

