• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 85 other followers

  • Tweet with Me!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Facebook fan page

  • Recent Comments

    Wendi on Lolli Pots – candy …
    Donna (@simplydab) on Another Gourmet Garlic Gi…
    Rosa on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    therunninggarlic on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    Pamela on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    JPlovesCOTTON on Borage in Bloom
  • Categories

22 Days till Spring

Encouraging!  Even though we still have quite a bit of snow on the ground signs of spring are starting to appear! 

The sun is shining brightly outside and I received my Nasturtium “Spitfire” seeds from Renee’s Garden yesterday in the mail.   These are the seeds I am planting and posting about each month for the Grow project along with many other garden bloggers.  It will be very interesting to compare notes with everyone from all over the country!

I have been a fan of Renee’s Garden for some time now.  It started the year I received the kitchen garden cookbooks as a birthday gift (from my cousin Renee ironically) along with a beautiful selection of seeds that I planted that year.  Seeds, gardening books, cookbooks are absolutely fantastic gifts for the gardening person …… they will love you forever!

“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project, thanks to ReneesGarden.com for the seeds.”

I have also secured my ticket to the Chicago Flower and Garden Show this year and I am totally excited!  The schedule of events and vendors looks fantastic and of course, I will share all my photos here.  The ideas that can be developed from the displays is truly remarkable and I definitely need some sound ideas for our place down south….much, much landscaping and gardening and planting to be done!

Going through all my records and charts I am starting to put together for this growing season, I decided I would like to create a nice Garden Journal and once again this may be something I make for The Great Garden Giveaway gift also!  I will be going to the local Joann’s craft store tomorrow to watch several demos on the Cricut machine (a scrapbooking marvel) and will decide if I want to invest in one.  I have been researching on the Cricut message boards and there is alot of information and members there.  If I do purchase I may have a pre-giveaway giveaway to celebrate …..Stay tuned!!!

8 Responses

  1. I live in northern Indiana, but have not wandered out to see if I have any new shoots of anything yet. Plenty of snow left here too. I discovered that my Hyacinth bulbs that I left in the garage over the winter are sprouting, I was wanting to “force” them. any tips? I brought them in & put them in a cool dark closet for now.

  2. I love growing Nasturtiums, although I have not grown any for years. Maybe I need to start again? I bet the Chicago show will be just beautiful. I hope you post photos when you go.

  3. Beth – I found this information about forcing bulbs http://www.ces.ncsu.edu/depts/hort/hil/hil-8507.html Good advice!

    Noelle – Yes, I will of course be posting the photos – can’t wait !!

  4. By all means read the link from running garlic. Since it’s late and your bulbs are already showing green, either put them in a container of stones and water, or pot up in potting soil as the NCSU site suggests. If the garage where you had them was as cold as a refrigerator, they’ve already been chilled and are ready to grow. The length of chill determines how long the stems will grow.

    If the ground isn’t frozen outside, you could just go ahead and plant them 6″ deep measuring from the bottom of the bulb. The green sprouts will find their way to the top.

    Whatever you decide to do, good luck. You have nothing to lose but those bulbs.

  5. Sorry, running garlic, I thought I had gone to Beth’s blog — which I had, but I came back here to check for something and got all confused, and you know…

    Isn’t this Nasturtium trial project fun? I can’t decide what to do with mine, except that they’ll go in pots so they can seek a cool place when we get hot weather much too soon.

    • I completely understand Nell 🙂 I can’t decide either where to plant the Nasturtium since I go back and forth between homes during the summer. I may end up planting at both locations and compare between the two!

  6. I love the photo of the bulbs coming up. It just makes my day to stumble upon something like that in my garden! It’s almost like the sneak out overnight, how fun!

  7. Playing catchup with the posts from March. Just wanted to stop by and say thanks for starting early.

    I read one of Renee’s books last year and really liked it too.

    Don’t forget about this Sunday’s post. Can’t wait to see your progress.

Leave a Reply

