Pressed Herbs and Flowers

Experimenting with my new Cricut has been fun and has stirred up all kinds of creative ideas!  I made these gift bags which I thought would be a bit bigger but I have to keep in mind the size of the machine.  I was envisioning the gift bags you pick up at the store but the ones I created are much smaller.  I can use them for candies or soaps but the best gift I thought to use them for would be seed packets…they are the perfect size!

I used pressed dried herbs and flowers along with paper cut designs to decorate the gift bags.  Dried sage is used as the stem and leaves in the design above.  Herbs are easy to dry either by hanging or press them flat in a heavy book as I did with these.

 Pressed basil, parsley, sage, flowers and leaves

I have realized that an area for laying out all my materials is crucial for the designing of projects. 

There seems to be an unlimited amount of projects and creations on the internet and I have only just begun to discover some of them.  A really clever idea that I did happen to find and can’t wait to use it in a design is using foil tape to cover cut out paper designs for an embossed look.

I think an embossed Running Garlic sign would be cool … oh, the possibilities are endless ………

5 Responses

  1. Lovely pressed flowers! It is important with any art project to have good work space! Great gift bags! ;>)

  2. Hey, RG! I love this post! Crafts are so much fun, especially when you incorporate gardening. My daughter loves to press flowers in her books…we’ll give this a try. Thanks so much for the inspiration!

  3. My wife absolutely loves that Cricut machine. Ever since she saw it on TV she fell in love. In her spare time she loves doing crafts and I can see why it helps her. I love gardening, so I figured why not put the two together.

  4. […] pressed flowers is not a new idea … earlier this year I created this post and it is an easy art to conquer.   I think we simply overlook all the possibilities to save […]

Leave a Reply

