• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 85 other followers

  • Tweet with Me!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Facebook fan page

  • Recent Comments

    Wendi on Lolli Pots – candy …
    Donna (@simplydab) on Another Gourmet Garlic Gi…
    Rosa on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    therunninggarlic on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    Pamela on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    JPlovesCOTTON on Borage in Bloom
  • Categories

May GROW project update

The month flew by!!!   I have been traveling between our two homes and gearing up for a great growing season ahead.  The garlic is growing wonderfully.

 Garlic down south

Garlic up north

The weather has been warmer down south but the chance for frost is still possible there, as well as, up north here ,,,, so I wait a little longer before I plant out all my seedlings.   Next trip down I will be taking about 8 trays of seedlings (good luck on that transport!)   The majority of the gardening will be down south and it can get a little tricky when I am gone for an extended period of time.  Speaking of which I had to leave the Nasturtium unattended for over a week and they did survive.  I had them watered and enclosed in a little greenhouse enclosure and did have someone check in on them to water if needed.  A few yellow leaves and I could tell they needed some attention (they had that look).  They will be joining the trip down south next week although I may leave a few up here for comparison – I will have to plant them outside before leaving and cross my fingers that frost doesn’t come visit while I am away.

The little growers, Natalie and Charlie are fascinated with their Nasturtium seedlings. 

There was a casualty when Natalie just HAD to squeeze one of the seedlings to see how it was doing!  Poor little guy couldn’t survive the hug.   I will be stopping over there early next week to talk garden plans and check in on all the little ones!

A whole lot of Windy weather lately – warmer, yes but windy as heck!  The lilac are in bloom – one of my favorites!

“I’m growing Nasturtium “Spitfire” for the GROW project, thanks to ReneesGarden.com for the seeds.”

5 Responses

  1. looking good! what a sweet photo of the kids and the nasties!

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Running Garlic. Running Garlic said: May GROW project update: http://wp.me/pJoEU-9G […]

  3. the nasties, I like that. Lol. Your garlic looks great, you have even more than me!

  4. Hello! Am fairly new to your blog, and I love the pictures of the Nasturtium. they’re beautiful! I can sympathize with the kids being a little to rough with the “hugs.” Sometimes adults get excited over their seedlings too, and I’ve been known to hug a little too hard myself, hehe.

    Looking forward to the rest of your posts. 🙂

  5. Yes, the garlic is running! Wow!! And the lilac is a fave of mine that I can no longer grow since moving to FL…so I have to enjoy yours. Smell it a few times for me! 🙂
    And the little growers are adorable!

Leave a Reply

