Zucchini Basil Muffins and Gourds

First I have to share this recipe I made today with zucchini and basil since soon our gardens will be overflowing with both!   I also experimented last night when baking chicken breast (bone in, skin on) and I am impressed with the results.   I baked the chicken in the oven at 350 degrees for a little over an hour – the chicken breasts were rather large.   I took fresh basil leaves and covered the top and also put some under the skin next to the meat – the finished flavor was fresh and I will definitely cook this way again!   Now on to the Muffin recipe – Zucchini Basil Muffins –

Grate 3 cups of fresh zucchini and combine with 2/3 cup melted butter along with a 1 cup of chopped basil.   Combine 1 1/3 cup sugar, 2 eggs (I used 1 egg and substituted 1 TB flaxseed with 3 TB water for the other egg) and 2 teaspns. vanilla.   Add all together.   Mix 2 teaspns. baking soda with 3 cups flour, 2 teaspns. cinnamon and 1/2 teaspn. nutmeg.   Stir into the zucchini mixture and add 1 cup chopped walnuts.   Bake 20-25 minutes – Yum!

I finished up 2 different gourd vases for my sister this past week and they were very easy.   Basically I just added a light coat of stain to darken them up a bit and a coat of polyacrylic (varnish) to seal them.   The smaller vase I did woodburn a few flowers as a design but I have to say the gourd’s own design is enough.  

Closeup of the gourd

Smaller gourd vase with woodburned flowers

The taller gourd vase with homegrown flowers added (broomcorn and lavender)

These gourds were from my harvest last year and were ready to craft with a while back but I just now finished them up.   I have more gourds to design and also have Apple, Bottle and what I call Champagne Bottle (the tall gourd shown) planted in the garden this year and already vining out all over!

I am in my glory today since I received my new Provocraft Gypsy!!!

 …. I am so excited!   I charged the battery and added a recent update, the Photo application.    I now have to link my cartridges and start learning!   I did create another blog, RunningGarlicDesigns, and I will be using that to show my different craft creations.   What Fun!!!

One Response

  1. So gourds are really ornamental, while hanging on the trellis and even they are dead and dry. Beautiful! ~bangchik

Leave a Reply

