Handmade – A Gift that Keeps on Giving

Fall definitely ushers in the start of the holiday season and thoughts of gift giving begin taking shape in my mind.    I start a list with everyone’s name and make a plan to either create something special or buy a meaningful gift for each person listed.    This can be a very exciting task and it is a good idea to start early; especially if you plan to create a gift from scratch.    Last year I made embroidered name pillows for nine little recipients and I was spinning the needle right up to the last minute!    This year I have ordered 10 wooden name keychains from DustyNewt Keychains as part of my special gifts to give.    The planning has begun!

The gifts you create yourself are from the heart and hold a deeper meaning that can be felt throughout the years.    Some gifts though don’t make it through the years such as gifts of food – either from your own garden or baked up in the kitchen.    Everyone loves to receive a basket full of canned goods or a special box of cookies or candy made especially by you! 

 A little tag attached letting them know it was made by you is great and an easy decoration. 

Kitchen Baking tags can be purchased here

When you plan your garden for next year make sure to plant a few extra plants for canning and gift giving.    Canned tomatoes, jams, peppers and garlic are great choices.    Garlic oil and vinegars are easy to make and super gifts for the cook on your list or as a hostess gift when you attend all your holiday parties.   

I have created a feature called a Linky on one of the pages on my website where you can add a link of your own if you sell handmade gifts.    Every few weeks the theme will change so make sure to bookmark it and check back.

I will be working on Running Garlic’s fan page on Facebook – like me and stay tuned to updates via facebook!

8 Responses

  1. Yup, I totally agree with you that making gifts is more heartfelt than buying. I am a beader, and last year I got the idea to also do some knitting. Had to teach myself how to knit first, and must have knitted up 5-7 scarves.
    This year I am sticking to beading, but also plan on purchasing nothing but hand-made. Thank you for the Linky.
    -Debbie (Abracadebra)

  2. I do so agree with you about homemade gifts. I’m starting to plan my bunch of gifts for this year. Not sure what all I’ll make besides soap, but it will be fun. I always make biscotti but want to try springerles since I was given a wonderful old wooden springerle mold.

  3. Wow Lynda we sure do think alot alike! Told my hubby I wanted to make biscotti just yesterday – he is actually bringing me some home today (we are heading out on another trip tomorrow)! Hiya Debbie! The Linky starts up when we return; I wanted to give everyone the heads up so they could plan according to the Party Theme (hostess gifts, etc.) 5-7 scarves that’s quite an accomplishment from the get go…good going!!
    Handmade Rocks!!!

  4. Love the tags!
    I’ve been working on my stash of gifts for the year.

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Colleen Vanderlinden and Running Garlic, Running Garlic. Running Garlic said: Handmade – A Gift that Keeps on Giving: http://wp.me/pJoEU-dY […]

  6. Hi friend,,… I found your blog from blogcatalog, follow you on blogcatalog…
    You have a nice blog..
    pls visit my blog and follow me at google connect if you interest with my blog
    http://newsforblogging.blogspot.com/
    Thank You…

  7. I love making handmade gifts for the holidays! Every year, I make an assortment of cookies to give to family, friends, and neighbors. I think I’m going to add biscotti to the mix this year, especially for my mother-in-law who (like me) absolutely loves her coffee!

    I’m hoping that by next year, I’ll get enough fruit from my apple tree to make some apple butter for everyone.

  8. Making gifts is excellent! Far better than buying the imported work in department stores. For ideas visit your local crafts studios – great and fun places.http://blog.sidestreetstudio.com/wood/10-reasons-why-you-should-buy-local-arts-crafts/

Leave a Reply

