Small Business Sites and more Post a Day

I created a page Post a Day Challenge on my blog and a tab appears above.   This is a breakdown of the topics I will be posting about each day of the week.   I also created a Facebook group for those of us participating so we can share our posts with each other via Facebook.   Others can join us in our daily or weekly challenge and I am sure we will meet some great fellow bloggers and learn some fun new things along the way!

Today (according to my daily breakdown for Sunday) the topic is “small business”.   I am no expert on small business but I do have some experience in this area since we have owned a small business in the restaurant industry for almost 15 years now.   We came to a point along the way where we made the decision to stay small instead of expanding and we do hope to retire in the next few years.   I have also dabbled in a few direct selling lines, real estate and most recently have opened an online shop at Zibbet selling some of my handmade creations.

I am always on the lookout for social sites to network with others and I love the concept of marketing.   At the end of the year and beginning of a new year alot of companies will create recaps of “the best of the year” and this is a Great resource to find a list of small business sites that come highly recommended.   Here are a few small business sites that offer wonderful advice and tips for those interested in learning more about small business or who already run a small business of their own.

Inc.com       Entrepreneur.com      SmallBizTrends.com      Mashable.com

Business Done Now has a great writeup and video on Social media websites for 2011 to keep on eye on … it’s worth checking out!

There is a wealth of information at each of these sites and you may spend many hours reading and learning.   If you are thinking about starting a blog for your small business, I highly recommend WordPress .  I have created several blogs over the years and find WordPress to have that sophisticated look I want for my writing and sharing.   Earlier today I posted a recap of my blog stats they emailed to me so I can see how I did and this is just one of the great ways they motivate and stay connected with their users.   Give WordPress a try; definitely a great business tool!

7 Responses

  1. I think the way you’ve broke the week down into several topics is rather ingenious. After I finish writing this comment, I’m going to subscribe. I’m looking forward to feature Friday alot!

    Great post and the potential for 2011 blogging greatness!

  2. Thanks for the kind words and for including Business Done Now in your article! I hope everyone found my post and video helpful on social media platforms to watch for 2011!

    Thanks again!

    Jason Kienbaum

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jason Kienbaum. Jason Kienbaum said: Small Business Sites and more Post a Day: http://t.co/E2fPWZW […]

  4. Thank you and Happy New Year to you both! So nice to meet you!

  5. What a wonderful idea!

    Thanks so much for joining in on Mingle Monday! Have a great week!

  6. My aunt runs a great blog about Rural Tourism Marketing, which fits into the small business area. Check it out if you like.
    http://ruraltourismmarketing.com

  7. Just to add a little bit, I would recommend WordPress for all small businesses. But, if you don’t have much knowledge or time to create a site, check out Weebly.com. I used them for my first site.

Leave a Reply

