• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 85 other followers

  • Tweet with Me!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Facebook fan page

  • Recent Comments

    Wendi on Lolli Pots – candy …
    Donna (@simplydab) on Another Gourmet Garlic Gi…
    Rosa on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    therunninggarlic on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    Pamela on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    JPlovesCOTTON on Borage in Bloom
  • Categories

Recycle Your Tech Stuff

Recycling is a way of life for most people – or so I thought.   Growing up the word recycle wasn’t even in our vocabulary, but as my children passed through their school years, recycling became a household word.   All around you can spot the recycle cans and many cities supply each household with a can to toss their papers and plastics which is then picked up weekly and taken to a recycling center for processing.

When we bought our second home down south I just assumed there would be some type of recycling.   When we attended a BBQ at a neighbor’s and I asked, quite innocently, where I should put the recycle they looked at me like I was crazy.   Apparently, they don’t follow the same strict recycling principles we do further up north here.   Since we are not there full-time, I have still to investigate this situation and “find” some way to recycle.   For now I bag up all the glass, cans and plastic and haul it all home to add to the weekly pickup for the journey to the recycling center.

Do you recycle?   Does it bother you when you see folks toss those plastics and glass containers into the garbage?   How about your tech stuff?  

Each time I visit the post office I make sure to grab a few recycle envelopes for mailing in your used ink cartridges or other small items.   It’s free and postage is paid.   I have now discovered that Office Depot offers a program where you receive credit on your rewards card for each used cartridge you bring in.   I will be doing this in the future…..hey, it’s money in my pocket, right?   And what better incentive than money to make us all get with it and Recycle!

Gazelle, another recent discovery, pays you for your old gadgets.   I haven’t used them yet, but will be checking them out to dispose of the above old toys.

Most of the big companies, Apple, Canon, Dell, HP offer ways to recycle your older computers and other such tech stuff.   This article from Wired.com is very helpful and full of resourceful links.   Plus a couple of others –  Donate that old computer , Computer Hope.  

Make sure you do your part to keep our planet neat and clean.   I am sure Mother Nature would appreciate your efforts!!

4 Responses

  1. That’s interesting…from my part of the world, we hardly preach the news of ‘recycle’. We focus mostly on ‘getting money in our pockets’ and when we finally come round to talking about recycle, then it’s plastics in mind 😦 I think recycling old gadgets is a fine idea.

    In Ghana, there’s always a ‘ready market’ to grab old stuff…(nothing really gets out of use around here 🙂 )

  2. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by OptOutPhoneBook, Running Garlic. Running Garlic said: Recycle Your Tech Stuff: http://wp.me/pJoEU-nX […]

  3. Our local library offers an ink cartridge recycling program for Habitat for Humanity. It’s where I drop off my cartridges, it’s a great program. When it comes to old gadgets we have various programs to donate our gadgets, I opt for donating my gadgets that support our local schools. We also have a local ATT that recycles/refurbish our phones to be donated to our troops over seas, another great program….
    Other gently used household items I opt to donate to a local program that has curbside pick up. I opt to donate my gently used items to families of domestic violence who are starting over. It’s true that there are still many individuals who don’t see the value of recycling. That is sad. Great post, thanks for the links!

  4. We definitely recycle in our household. Actually in my area, the town has designated days to pick up different types of garbage.
    It irks me when I see people throw bottles out their car windows… Now there should be a law against that one. My old computers get given away but I might look into Computer Hope. Great post! 🙂
    I’m on my vampire schedule today… even if I don’t show up as the posts arrive in my box, I will make the effort to catch up. Don’t count me out yet 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

