I Love to Bake!

I could bake all day long, day after day, and never get bored!   I try to bake healthy using whole wheat flour and adding flaxseed or applesauce as substitutes for higher calorie ingredients.   With our current empty-nester status it is not as common to find me baking away in the kitchen these days, but you can bet I am always searching for a new recipe or two to try out.   This weekend I have a family birthday to celebrate and I plan to bake up a bunch of goodies.   The main attraction will be the birthday cake of course and chocolate candies which has been my latest fascination.

I do have some different flavors I will be experimenting with this week – these are filled with a peppermint ganache and melt in your mouth!   I have also decided to explore decorating the candies and cake with a bit more fancy details.   In the past, I normally would just use store-bought frosting mix and tube icing to decorate.   Researching a bit I have discovered two different homemade frosting or icing I am anxious to try.   Having often wondered about the two but falling short of actually looking into them I would just grab the store-bought can of mix.   Buttercream frosting and Royal icing are the star players I am referring to here.   Buttercream is more creamy and has more flavor whereas the royal icing dries hard and can be used to make flowers and other decorations.

You want to keep the Buttercream Frosting in the refrigerator when not using and it will keep for 2 weeks but must be whipped again before using.   The Royal Icing sets quickly, so keep the bowl covered with a damp cloth at all times to prevent drying.

                                                    and Speaking of Snow……

Here is a cute recipe that is perfect for this time of year.    I am sure young and old alike would enjoy it!

Candy in the Snow – Only one ingredient and a generous snowfall needed.   Gently boil 1/2 cup of maple syrup until it has thickened, for about 5 minutes.   Fill a bowl with clean snow and drizzle the hot syrup over it.  The syrup will harden into “candy” you can eat with your fingers.

7 Responses

  1. Yum! The chocolates look wonderful! I like the idea of the snow candy but I don’t like maple. Hubby sure would!

  2. What a fun idea! I live in Phoenix, so I won’t be able to partake, but I’m going to send a link to your post to my family in upstate NY. Thanks!

  3. You had me at Peppermint and Butter Cream.
    I am hungry now! 🙂

  4. Our snow is all gone, but have written the Candy in the Snow method down for next year! All your creations look wonderful.

  5. OMG! What a tempting and yummy blog post , i meant the pic 🙂
    Can I have some 🙂 . Please , Pretty please 😀

  6. That is amazing with the snow… and the chocolates are delicious. 🙂
    Eliz

  7. YUM your chocolates look so good! You’ve got me on a candy kick!

Leave a Reply

