Finding my Creativity

Some days my creative personality plays hide and seek and insists on playing games with me.   It hides somewhere deep inside and taunts me to seek it out.   Each time I come within reach, it jumps and hides again.   It can be a challenge and I could easily give up … but the urge is strong.  I look to discover something unique and inspiring.

I find that when creativity eludes me the best approach to coming up with an idea is to step back and re-focus my direction.   Instead of trying to work on something for someone else or find reason for what “they” would like, I turn the tables and ask myself what “I” would like.  Once I am drawn to those things that excite me, the creativity spark is ignited.  

How do I want it to look or what do I want it to do.  It may not turn out to be a masterpiece, but a perfect masterpiece should not be a concern.

Recently I started an “Idea Book” which is simply a 3 ring binder where I keep ideas.   Quotes, magazine pictures, websites to visit or sticky notes with a topic to write about.   Reading past posts or papers I have written helps stir up additional ideas about subjects I want to write more about or discover something new about.

Drawing up an outline of ideas is a thought that may work well with the current Post a Day Challenge.   I have successfully written each day in January but that is a mere dent in the challenge … for there are 11 more months to go!   I could look at this as a dreaded task or better yet develop an outline of ideas that I want to learn more about.   If I am accomplishing something and working in a direction of some type of goal, I am sure my creative personality will still egg me on at times with the game of hide and seek, but it will be great fun when I win and say “You’re It!”

6 Responses

  1. I totally agree that when our creativity has deserted us that we need to re-connect with ourselves and go back to writing from the heart, without worrying about what other people may like to read.

    Often these are the posts that encourage the most comments as people can always tell when we are being authenic and this touches others on a deeper level.

    Love the idea of keeping a ring binder with ideas so they are all in one place. And having pictures as well helps to inspire creativity.

    Great post – thank you x

  2. I also love the idea of a ring binder. I have several binders of projects I’m going to try one of these days. And I do refer to them from time-to-time. Right now with interviewing all of these local crafters I’m on creativity overload as I want to try all of these arts/crafts. But I’m at my best when I’m using my creativity whether it’s writing my blog or my column or playing with the various crafts I’ve gotten into. Great topic!

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Running Garlic, Running Garlic. Running Garlic said: Finding my Creativity: http://wp.me/pJoEU-qb […]

  4. At least yours plays hide n seek! When my creativity goes.. it really goes! Sometimes, I have not been able to find it again, for months! I am hoping the new outlook I have this year, prevents such big gaps!

  5. Hide and seek is exactly what my muse does from time and time and, like you, I look for nourishment elsewhere. I write best late at night but then it all depends. 😉
    Eliz

  6. Debbie, from my point of your your creativity is amazing. I mean your have been doing a post a day for a month now, and you always have great ideas. Keep them coming!!

Leave a Reply

