Food Focus or Munchie Monday!

Eat healthy!  

I think those two simple words are tattooed on my brain and will be there forever!   I am constantly aware of what I eat, how much and how good it is for me … it’s not really an obsession, just an awareness thing.   How can I say it’s not an obsession?   Simply because I don’t abide by those two words as an obsessive person would.   The holidays are now well past and I can honestly say “I did not Eat Healthy”.   The few extra pounds can verify that fact and although it may not all be the eating thing – lack of outdoor activity may factor in somewhat … I am betting all those calories consumed helped boost along this weight gain.   Last year about this time I found Spark People – which is an interactive website which helps you track your calories and activities.   I highly recommend it – I even purchased the book which was brand new to the market.   I did Great and felt Great …. I may head on back there for a refresher!

Recently, I discovered another site that has me heading back for more – this time for recipes and a theory they call “healthified”.   You can listen to the explanation here – a simple concept of reducing some of the fat and extra calories in foods we eat.   What I initially planned to post today was a few recipes from the site Eat Better America, cook a few up and post pictures.  

Then … Another idea came to me!  As I was catching up reading posts from fellow bloggers, my creativity alert went off (the very one that loves to play hide and seek with me!) and the idea came from this post over at Piglet in Portugal.   She even suggested a name for me “Munchie Monday”!   Her “Foodie Fridays” feature recipes she would like to try and has received help with suggestions from some of her readers.   An excellent way to learn and try some new recipes!

So my thought was to create a Linkup for Munchie Monday and invite readers to post their recipes to share.   Checking with my account, I see there are some changes being made and I need to do a little further investigating.   Hopefully, by next Monday I will have a plan in place!  

Thank you to Piglet in Portugal for that spectacular idea and I must go do some more blog reading to see what all the rest of you creative folks are up to!       Tonight’s dinner will be Healthified Ravioli and Squash Toss  … easy enough!

4 Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing. I’ve been looking for some help/tips in this area. Thanks for posting! I’ll take a looksie.

  2. Hi,

    It’s amazing how ideas come to you! I look forward to reading next Mondays munchie recipe!

    I know I should be eating healthily and I do try. When I was in the UK I use to buy loads of
    pre-prepared meals – not so in Portugal because I cant read the instructions!. I’ve had to learn to cook everthing from scratch!

    As I have been writing this comment I have been trying to photograph a Robin…by goodness they are shy…fingers crossed.
    🙂
    Piglet

  3. Munchie Mondays sound like a great idea! I am a healthy eating wannabe – I know what I need to do, but I just don’t do it…maybe we can offer each other encouragement through the Munchie Mondays 😮

  4. Great idea for all the munchies that we can have… I like the additional information too… Lots to learn on our food journey. 🙂
    E

Leave a Reply

