My Gardening List for 2011

I finally started work on my Gardening List for the coming 2011 season.   Although I have notes and little reminders here and there, it’s time to pull it all together and get organized.

In previous years I have included my list on the above tab “Gardening” and will continue this year.   My biggest challenge when planning for the coming season is the fact that I am torn between two homes which are a travel distance of 5 hours apart.   I have learned over the past few years that you really have to be on location when gardening and if you are gone for several days in a row, you need to have someone look after all your plants.   This little tip hit hard last summer when I was gone for 2 weeks and the weather scorched out at 115 degrees and did a number on every little and big plant I had growing.   It was a painful experience and still very clear in my thoughts.   So as I look through my seeds, I have to first decide where I will be spending most of my time and if I do leave; will the plants survive.

The garlic was planted October, 2010 – 500 bulbs here up North and about 300 down South.   They are sleeping well underneath the huge layer of snow right now and will wake up as Spring approaches.   Mid-July I will be harvesting all the garlic and then it will cure (dry out) for about a month.   The 5 varieties growing this year are Chet’s Italian, Inchelium Red, Chrysalis Purple, Persian Star and Chesnok Red.

This year I intend to grow more Sunflowers.   They have always amazed me and I find them such a daunting yet graceful (in their own way) flower.   I have my seeds all ready and waiting the exciting season ahead … Chocolate Cherry Sunflower, Junior (good for containers), Cinnamon Sun, Autumn Beauty and I am trying the Edible Snack Seed Sunflower also.

I will be working on “the list” today and although I have my updated version posted, I still have to decide what to plant where and most importantly … Where am I going to be?

Will it be Munchie Monday or Menu Monday … that is the question!   The poll is still open for your vote !   Make sure to have your recipe ready for Monday … when the fun begins!!

6 Responses

  1. I would love to hear more about this and how you get started for the year. My garden sucked big time last year. I usually just do tomatoes and fresh basil. Ive tried growing pumpkins for 2 years with not much luck.

  2. Reading your post makes me realise I need to organise myself.
    one question
    I planted garlic in December the green shoots are about 6inches high. I am growing them in large containers. Does the soil have to be kept moist or does it matter if it dries out? Do i have to feed them with fertiliser and finally how long approx (as we have not snow) will they take to develop from cloves into heads of garlic?

  3. OK just realised the above was several questions 🙂 LOL

  4. I just added you to my blog subscriptions and I’m planning on participating in your _____ Mondays! (I voted for Munchie)
    I have a black thumb, so I’ll be living vicariously through your blog! Thanks!

  5. I think anticipating your garden is half the fun! I hope to have a small, square foot garden in the house, about 4′ x 4′ – assuming we EVER get moved in 😮

  6. Sounds like you have bit of my spring, (gardening) fever. Every year about this time, I can’t hold off any longer and start lettuce, spinach, parsley, and cilantro in the greenhouse. We have had a very warm January and early February so my garlic is already growing. I planted only about 50 or 60 but it is all for us. Me mostly. 🙂

Leave a Reply

