Thinking about Writing…

As I sit thinking today … I am thinking about writing. There are writers and then there are writers like me. I write about things I know … factual things like planting a seed and the progress of its growth or mixing ingredients and watching as the cookies bake into a golden brown in the oven. I write “how tos” or tutorials to help others do what I have already done. At times I write motivational tidbits and hope it helps others overcome obstacles. I consider myself a “safe” writer….writing about things I know.

In the last few months two very distinctive trends started to surface in my life and opened my eyes to the “other writers”.   The first eye opener is my son who recently graduated college and is working on his novel. He doesn’t talk much about it, but I now understand.  I get it.  I have always just read self-help books or books with a concrete theme (cooking, gardening, sewing) and although I would read a fictional book on occasion I only purchased “practical” books. Then I started interacting with writers in the WordPress challenge and started reading some of their posts.   They are writers like my son.   They become the characters and build a world from their thoughts; they follow their imaginations to wherever they may lead.   They create an environment all its own and they write …. from the depths of their minds.   Unlike me, the safe writer, they break the barriers and tread the unsafe grounds.

Now I am becoming aware of different authors or books that I see mentioned. There is a huge world of writers out there and they create works of art that people rush to read.  They nod in agreement when they refer to a specific author and his works … it’s a bond that only writers and the readers know.

What prompted my real and final full understanding of this concept was just recently at a family gathering.   My sister and aunt were discussing books and authors sharing their insights – I sat there looking from one to the other and finally piped in saying…. If you both love reading so much why don’t you Write!   Write a book!

They both looked at me in total disbelief and said no, no we could never write like this … “There are readers, like us, and then there are Writers.”

So as I sit thinking today … about writing …. I know now I totally “get it”.

I think it’s finally time to crack open the book my son handed to me a while back and told me I should read “Where the Sidewalk Ends” by Shel Silverstein.    I am sure the writer Peter Weis would nod in agreement.

11 Responses

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Running Garlic, Running Garlic. Running Garlic said: Thinking about Writing… http://wp.me/pJoEU-tq […]

  2. one of my favorite books…you will enjoy it. Happy reading.

  3. My kids grew up on Shel and I love his writings… Enjoy the read. Personally, I believe there is a writer in each of us; some have their writer’s voice early in life while others have to find their writer’s voice. I loved your post. Keep writing too!
    🙂
    Eliz

  4. I love your style of writing…it is so clear and concise. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with us.

    Like you, I am an avid self-help book fan although I do venture off down the novel route when I’ve had enough of self-reflection. Reading novels helps me to switch off the analytical side of brain and to relax.

    Great post. Thanks Debbie. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on your revelation. Enjoy your new world.

  6. Indeed. Indeed. Most people don’t know that he actually wrote the “Boy named sue” song for Johnny Cash.

    And believe it or not for the most part I write the same way you do. Usually from experience of some sort. My post today about a bedtime story was inspired by an actual dream I had last week. I find it much easier to write how tos and non fiction also. Sometimes its fun though to just let your self go and see what happens.

  7. I love Shel Silverstein . . . especially his take on Zebras and their stripes.

    If you’re interested:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/zebras-rock/

  8. Glad I stopped by via Eliz’ Valentine’s Day Mega Blog Hop!
    I think we all have at least one book in us…but not everyone is inspired to write it/them or determined enough to keep at it when life tries to get in the way. 🙂
    You write so well…just keep on…and others will keep on reading what you have written!

  9. I already commented earlier on this post… Just wanted to say Congrats on being Freshly Pressed and
    Thanks for your contribution to the bloghop! 😉
    Elizabeth

  10. i’m acutely interested in the details of motivational tidbits .. can you keep me in the loop please – cheers alan

  11. One of the best ways to improve as a writer is to read more. So you’re on the right track 🙂

Leave a Reply

