Cool tags for your gifts – Easter!

 Tags or Place cards

It’s all in the technique …

 

The technique I want to show you is called “Heat embossing” and when I first became interested in papercrafts this fascinated me and still does.   The design you stamp is raised off the surface of the paper and has a glossy shine to it.   The only drawback to this method is that you do have to purchase special supplies – a heat tool, embossing powder and Perfect Medium stamping solution.

Choose your paper be it a card, tag or a design for framing.   Stamp the design using the Perfect Medium and then sprinkle embossing powder onto that. 

I used a copper color which gives it a nice antique look.   Shake off the excess powder and return it to the container for future use (don’t discard).   Then take the heat tool and heat up the powder which will transform before your eyes.    

Something that adds a dramatic look to the tags or card is taking an ink pad and going around the edge and brushing it with color.    You can see that on the lower flower tags here.   I then took a swan design and using my sewing machine slowly attached the swan to a doily – I emphasize slowly since we are working with paper and you don’t want to tear it by sewing too quickly.

You can further attach this design to a box lid or use as a place card with an added little treat for your guests adding the date and their name so they can save as a treasured keepsake.

Pretty sweet, huh?

Which type of Chocolate do you prefer – Dark or Milk Chocolate?  Vote here!

Added to the “Get your Craft On” blog linkup…Thanks!

6 Responses

  1. Your handicraft posts always take me back to my younger days when I used to love craftwork. I still get a thrill out of visiting a craft shop and letting my imagination run wild with possiblities.

    Now all I have to do is create some space in my life to indulge in some of my long lost hobbies.

    Thanks Debbie – lovely post.
    Juls 🙂

  2. I’ve done some of that with stamps and embossing powder.

    It’s lovely.

    So is the chocolate swan. 😀

  3. That looks beautiful!

  4. Thank you lovely ladies 🙂

  5. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by KatG. and Denise M. Bruce, Running Garlic. Running Garlic said: Cool tags for your gifts – Easter!: http://t.co/nwCUm4H […]

  6. That is such a good idea! I’m going to have to try it out, it looks so pretty.
    Thanks for the post!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

