Peppers are makin’ Flowers already

I planted my pepper plants back in the beginning of December – the 6th to be exact.   So it’s been a bit over 3 months and flowers are starting to develop.   Since I still have another 3 months before the frost will be gone for good here I may have to take on the task of some pollinating with these peppers.   Normally, outdoors the peppers will pollinate on their own between the bugs, bees and wind helping the situation – indoors, is another story.   I have helped along my gourds the past 2 years since I wanted to guarantee a good harvest.

Once the flowers fully develop and open all that is needed is either a small paintbrush or a q-tip.   Simply swipe the pollen from one flower to the next and keep doing this randomly – you can pretend to be a bee buzzing from flower to flower.

A while back I wrote and published this great post titled Peppers Planted and I am looking forward to making the Red Pepper Soup once again.  It is simply delicious with the Alma Paprika Peppers adding just the right kick of heat and flavor.   A recent arrival in the mail made my day this past week – a new magazine …..

…..looks like some good gardening information for me to read 🙂

6 Responses

  1. My word you are keen to be growing them indoors!

    You have just reminded me I must plant some seeds NOW, if I want some peppers this year.

    You are so organised you put me to shame 😦

    PiP

  2. My mom does the same thing! She uses a paintbrush to pollinate. I wonder if you make the same little buzzing sound she does… bzzzzz bzzzzzz

  3. Awesome post. Spring is in the air.

    How many peppers did Peter Piper pick? 😎

  4. Makes me look forward to gardening. 🙂

  5. Don’t you just love seeing those little buds appear on your pepper plants?

  6. My mom was an avid gardener starting everything from seeds from the previous summer’s crop, but she never started her plants that early.

    You are ambitious and adventurous. Can’t wait to hear how this all turns out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

