A Look at Little Plants

I thought I would share with you some new seedlings that are just pushing their way through the soil.   Many new gardeners like to see what happens – I remember how I would (and still do) stare at photos of something I was planning on growing.   It is amazing how a seed you bury in the soil will produce food you can eat in 60-80 days … a true wonder.

These are tomato seedlings which were planted March 9 … so this is their progress at just over a week.   I have them under heat lamps about 12-14 hours a day.   I did have them covered with Saran wrap to keep the moisture in, but have now removed it, since they are telling me it’s time by pushing it out of the way.   They want to Grow!

Next … more Dill and Basil which were planted March 10th and March 11th, respectively.

Basil

Next…Pepper plants of which I have bigger ones ready to plant outside (yes, it’s way too soon for that here).   These are Purple Pepper I started a few weeks ago.

And last but not least … Baby Lavender seedlings!   I have many well established plants growing down south and these little lavenders were started from seed that I obtained from those mature plants.   Lavender takes a good 2-3 years to produce flowers and will return year after year.

I hope this enticed you to start some seeds and grow a garden this year if you haven’t made that decision yet.   It really is a continual learning experience and it doesn’t always work as I plan, but I keep right on trying.   My new and different plant for this year is “Pumpkin on a Stick” … make sure to watch to see how that goes!

Thanks for stopping by!

13 Responses

  1. You are lucky to have the heat option…I planted tomato plants about 10/2 and the cherry tomatoes are only that size now.
    Some seeds ahve not appeared at all I am seriously wondering if I put any seeds in the pots.
    Other seeds I planted directly in the ground are already up through the soil and they went in a lot later…I need to get hold of some vermiculite…but I can’t seem to find it here in Portugal.
    Was it you whoc called your seed tin the tin of doom? I’ve adopted that name for my seed tin 🙂
    cheers
    PiP

  2. yay!! i keep going out to look and see if my sugar snap and snow pea seeds are sprouting! i should plant some more lavender.

    i can’t wait to see pumpkin on a stick, that sounds very interesting.

  3. My husband is just finishing up our new garden area. The seedlings are growing, tomatoes, squash, arrugula, onions, garlic, peas and watermelons. Praying for a bountiful harvest!

  4. Perfect post for this week’s photo challenge . . . Spring!

    http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/weekly-photo-challenge-spring/

  5. Love the seedling photos!

  6. Beautiful photos! Watching little sprouts push their way up through the soil is so rewarding!

  7. Just LOVE these photos – there’s something so exciting about seeds beginning to sprout 😮

  8. […] Photo Challenge ~ Spring * Classy Rose * Creating Magic * Running Garlic * Passionate About Pets * Reflections from a Cloudy […]

  9. I found your blog through WordPress’s gardening feed.

    Great looking seedlings! Like you, I’m always amazed at how quickly they grow and produce food. I mostly have annuals growing indoors right now (no good sunny spot to grow veggies outdoors), but I love the process of starting plants from tiny seeds and watching them take off.

  10. Your seedlings look wonderful!

    I’m looking forward to getting into the garden and cleaning up the asparagus bed. About the time I can do that, I’ll get some seeds started.

  11. Love your photos!

    BTW, I have given you a Versatile Blogger award. Check it out later. And thanks!

  12. Looks like you have a lot going on! With the recent good weather we have a lot germinating now, starting to run out of room!

  13. I had a garden when I lived in Chicago, but since I moved to Brooklyn I just forage my neighbor’s. I do think that waiting 60-80 days is way too long. I’m not very patient so I would just eat them as is!
    I found your blog through the blog-hop and hopping is what I do best.

Leave a Reply

