• Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 85 other followers

  • Tweet with Me!

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Facebook fan page

  • Recent Comments

    Wendi on Lolli Pots – candy …
    Donna (@simplydab) on Another Gourmet Garlic Gi…
    Rosa on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    therunninggarlic on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    Pamela on Garlic Giveaway Winners!
    JPlovesCOTTON on Borage in Bloom
  • Categories

Garlic past its prime

Some of the garlic I have from last season is starting to sprout and it makes sense since the garlic out in the ground is sprouting also.    It must sense that it’s time to grow!   At this point, the garlic is still very edible but it has lost its youthfulness and freshness.   I decided to dry some up in the Excalibur dehydrator and save it this way.   I will take it a step further and powder it for simple sprinkling into recipes.

This garlic press/slicer I found and purchased over the summer has been a true time saver!    Previous to buying it, I would cut each individual clove into slices and it did take forever.   Now I just pop the clove in the garlic slicer and presto …. nicely sliced garlic!

Patiently awaiting their time in the Excalibur

Here we have the garlic sprouting outside …

Planted in October to be harvested in July!

Make sure to add your recipe to Munchie Monday tomorrow.   I will be adding Garlic Herb Croutons … easy, easy!

8 Responses

  1. This is a great idea. Maybe one day my garlic crop will be so successful that I can use it. Right now I don’t have many leftovers.

  2. Good for you . . . making use of garlic just past the prime of life. 😀

  3. Meant to ask earlier, would you mind if I mentioned you in a post on versatile bloggers? It’d be along these lines: http://cadencies.wordpress.com/2011/04/02/versatility-my-forte-not/

  4. I have been seeing more of this and have received it from fellow bloggers – my dilemma at times is when I travel my internet connection is not reliable. So basically not sure I can do all that is required…

  5. I won’t hold you to any of the requirements. I’m not sure if I’m fulfilling them. But if you’d rather I leave you off, that’s no problem.

    • My blog definitely is versatile so if you feel I deserve the honor, I am grateful….just sayin’ I may not be able to do the research to continue on the award. So it is up to you and hey….Thank you Friend 🙂

  6. Wow great info on the garlic press slicer.

  7. My garlic is sprouting in the garden too! A sure sign of spring. It is really something how it just stays there growing roots all winter and then a few warm days of spring and here it comes!

Leave a Reply

