Huge Garden Project

The past 3 years I have been concentrating my gardening efforts on our place down south and this year I am doing a reverse!   We have cleared a rather large area in our yard up north and have decided to do a really spectacular garden.   Although I have some gardening knowledge this large space is intimidating!   There is nothing there and I plan to make it pretty … yikes!

This is our back yard and the area with black dirt is our new garden!   That is alot of black dirt!

Another angle ….. of ALOT of black dirt!

And still another view of the area

Frankie is quite content watching as we line the area with brick to keep the soil from running off in heavy rains.   Some days I really wish my dogs, of which we have four, could pitch in and help a little with some of this work.

Next step is framing the area with plastic lattice to keep the bunnies out … the squirrels will climb over so I need to keep an eye out for them.   One year they had a real feast on all my miniature blue corn I had growing when we were gone for a weekend.

This is an additional area on the side of the house that I plan to clean up and add flowers or it may be the herb garden.

It looks like I have my work cut out for me ….. maybe the dogs will have a change of heart and decide to help out.

Follow along as I create my Dream Garden!

 

7 Responses

  1. Wonderful post, Debbie.
    But, WOW, that’s going to be a lot of work.

    Do you enjoy splitting your time between two locations? How much time do you spend in each place?

    • It is tough getting everything packed up and moved back and forth but at this point, I have somewhat of a system. I would much rather have one home so I can fully concentrate my efforts there but until the economy improves selling now is not a good move. Last spring/summer I was mainly down south – this year looks like I will be up north much more. Thank you for all your caring comments Nancy – I appreciate it 🙂

  2. Gorgeous home!

  3. Wow, that does look like a big project. But I know you are up to the task! And I can’t wait to see the progress photos!!

  4. Debbie – that IS a lot of black dirt! It’s going to being wonderful – I will enjoy seeing updates as you get things planted and they start growing. I am trying to motivate myself to go out and set up a small 4′ x 4′ garden for a few herbs and veggies. Perhaps once I get these taxes mailed out on Monday….

  5. I can’t wait to see how this new garden adventure unfolds. That is a lot of dirt! Especially to a container gardener… How do you even begin? Are you doing flowers and veggies? Cheers!

  6. I will be doing both veggies and flowers and most I have started from seed – so this should be very interesting. I am anxious to start but I know I must wait for the green light here in the Chicagoland area…another few weeks.

Leave a Reply

